It’s good design but I don’t like it.

Last week, in my course Presenting Content there was one moment when we got it all right. We had a look at several websites in order to check whether they were designed well or not. One of the pages was the Apple.com homepage, which at the time featured the new MacBook Air and had a colorless air to it (excuse the joke…).

It was quite minimalistic and we only had one Mac user out of nine people attending the course. So, what they all agreed on was: „It’s good design but I don’t like it.“

Now, I’m not a Mac user and I still like the website. The attitude of Apple is tending to get on my nerves and I still like the website. They are somewhat confronting the web dev community with facts that are hard to swallow: App Store policies, no flash please, no Java please etc. and I still like the design of the website. What is more: I think that the Apple website is a perfect place to go if you need a quick example for [insert your favorite web design rule here].

But that’s not actually the point that I wanted to make here. What is the point, however, is that we had an epiphany when the sentence in the title of this post was uttered. There is a difference between taste and good design. If, of course, you are a designer then this is your daily bread. This is still not something that you get across to your students easily and I think this sentence will do exactly that.

As an extra for my course: Here’s how the last slide should have looked like…😉

Aspects of good design

Set in St Ryde Regular and Adelle Basic Bold

Update: I’ve put up the presentation on Slideshare.com:

Schreibe einen Kommentar

